Local areas

Suburb Profiles


Clayton is a suburb in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, and 18km southeast from Melbourne’s central business district. Its Local Government Area is the City of Monash. At the 2006 Census, Clayton had a population of approximately 16,000.

Clayton is a mixed-use suburb in south-eastern Melbourne. One of Australia’s largest universities, Monash University, is located here. As a result, the suburb has a large proportion of people aged 18-24 (31%). Almost two-thirds of the population were born overseas, and there was a large increase in the Chinese born population between 2001 and 2006.

Clayton is classed as a Premium Station and is in Metcard Zone 2. Clayton is located at the eastern end of the Clayton Road level crossing, with station access from Clayton and Carinish Roads.

Primary Schools include:
  •     Clayton North Primary School
  •     Clayton South Primary School
  •     Huntingdale Primary School
  •     St Peter’s Primary School
  •     Clayton Primary School
  •     Westall Primary School
Secondary Schools include:
  •     Huntingtower School
  •     Westall Secondary College
  •     Mount Waverley Secondary College
University include:
  •     Monash University (Clayton Campus)